

ASEF Goes into its 6th Year – Changes on Chairmanship and Secretariat

On 29 October, 2020, Active Shipbuilding Experts' Federation (ASEF) held its 6th Assembly.

ASEF is composed of 10 members.

China Association of the National Shipbuilding Industry

Colombo Dockyard PLC (Sri Lanka)

Shipyards Association of India

Indonesia Shipbuilding and Offshore Association

The Shipbuilders' Association of Japan

Korea Offshore & Shipbuilding Association

Association of Marine Industries of Malaysia

Turkish Shipbuilders' Association

Thai Shipbuilding and Repairing Association

Shipbuilding Industry Corporation (Vietnam)

ASEF has started its operation from 26 November, 2015. After three years of trial period rotating the Chairmanship and the Secretariat among SAJ, KOSHIPA and CANSI each year, secretariat rotation is every two years instead of one.

And KOSHIPA functions as an ASEF secretariat.

Term	Secretariat	Chair
2015. 11 ~ 2016. 10	SAJ	Shigeru Murayama
2016. 11 ~ 2017. 10	KOSHIPA	Young-Joo Seo
2017. 11 ~ 2018. 10	CANSI	MinJun Chen
2018. 11 ~ 2020. 10	SAJ	Yasuhiko Katoh, Tamotsu Saito
2020. 11 ~ 2022. 11	KOSHIPA	Sung-Geun Lee

Since ASEF became IMO NGO (2017.12) technical issues of the maritime industry being discussed at IMO, ISO, IACS, etc. are handled by TWG and SWGS. (SWG1 Coating, SWG2 Containership safety, SWG4 GBS & CSR, SWG5 Mass and Cyber Resilience, SWG6 Environment, SWG7 Ship Fittings). ASEF will keep on following other issues either on ad hoc basis or by establishing a new Sub-Working Group even in the no-contact environment due to COVID-19 pandemic.

- IMO NGO status extended(2019.7, IMO C 122)



Organisation: (For the 6th year 2020 – 2021)

Headquarters:

Korea Offshore & Shipbuilding Association(KOSHIPA)

18th fl Landmark Tower, 308 Gangnamdaero, Gangnam-gu, Seoul, South Korea, Zip: 06253

Telephone: +82-2-2112-8069 Fax: +82-2-2112-8182

E-mail: <u>asef-secretariat@asef2015.com</u> (unchanged from previous)

Web site: <u>https://asef2015.com</u> (unchanged from previous)

Chairman: Sung Geun Lee

(Chairman, Korea Offshore & Shipbuilding Association KOSHIPA)

Vice Chairman: Minjun Chen

(Vice Chairman, China Association of National Shipbuilding Industry CANSI)

Vice Chairman: Ichiro Kono

(KHI President of Ship & Offshore Structure Company, SAJ)

Council Members: Seok-Joo Chung(KOSHIPA)

Peng Jin(CANSI)

Dave Iwamoto(SAJ)

Aydin Alaftan(Turkish Shipbuilders' Association)

Secretary General: Sung-Hun Kim (KOSHIPA)

Accredited Persons (technical): Tae II Lee (KOSHIPA)

Jiameng Wu (CANSI) Naoki Ueda (SAJ)

Mehtap Ozdemir(GISBIR)