

## ASEF Goes into its 8th Year - Changes on Chairmanship and Secretariat

On 18<sup>th</sup> October 2022, Active Shipbuilding Experts' Federation (ASEF) held its 8<sup>th</sup> Assembly.

ASEF is composed of 10 members.

China Association of the National Shipbuilding Industry

Colombo Dockyard PLC (Sri Lanka)

Shipyards Association of India

Indonesia Shipbuilding and Offshore Association

The Shipbuilders' Association of Japan

Korea Offshore & Shipbuilding Association

Association of Marine Industries of Malaysia

Turkish Shipbuilders' Association

Thai Shipbuilding and Repairing Association

Shipbuilding Industry Corporation (Vietnam)

ASEF has started its operation from 26<sup>th</sup> November 2015. After three years of trial period rotating the Chairmanship and the Secretariat among SAJ, KOSHIPA and CANSI each year, secretariat rotation is every two years instead of one.

And CANSI functions as an ASEF secretariat.

Term	Secretariat	Chair
2015. 11 ~2016. 10	SAJ	Shigeru Murayama
2016. 11 ~2017. 10	KOSHIPA	Young-Joo Seo
2017. 11 ~2018. 10	CANSI	MinJun Chen
2018. 11 ~2020. 10	SAJ	Yasuhiko Katoh, Tamotsu Saito
2020. 11 ~2022. 11	KOSHIPA	Sung-Geun Lee,Sam H. Ka
2022. 11 ~2024. 11	CANSI	Wei Sun

Since ASEF became IMO NGO (2017.12) technical issues of the maritime industry being discussed at IMO, ISO, IACS, etc. are handled by TWG and SWGS. (SWG1 Coating, SWG2 Containership safety, SWG4 GBS & CSR, SWG5 Mass and Cyber Resilience, SWG6 Environment, SWG7 Ship Fittings). ASEF will keep on following other issues either on ad hoc basis or by establishing a new Sub-Working Group even in the no-contact environment due to COVID-19 pandemic.

- IMO NGO status extended(2019.7, IMO C 122)



Organisation: (For the 8<sup>th</sup> year 2022 - 2024)

## Headquarters:

China Association of the National Shipbuilding Industry (CANSI) No5, Yue Tan Bei Jie Road, Xicheng, Beijing, China, Zip Code: 100861

Telephone: +86 010 59517822 Fax: +86 010 59518255 E-mail: gjhs@csscstri.com

Web site: https://asef2015.com (unchanged from previous)

Chairman: Wei SUN

(CANSI Chairman unit- CSSC)

Vice Chairman: Kyu Chong CHOI

(KOSHIPA Executive Vice Chair)

Vice Chairman: Isamu FUNATSU

(President and CEO, Mitsui E&S Shipbuilding)

Council Members: Seok Joo CHUNG(KOSHIPA)

Yu XIE(CANSI)

Tsuyoshi ISHIGURO(SAJ – Japan Marine United)

Aydin ALAFTAN(GISBIR)

Secretary General: Xuan WANG (CANSI-CSSC-STRI)

Accredited Persons (technical): Jiameng WU (CANSI – MARIC)

Naoki UEDA (SAJ –Mitsubishi Shipbuilding)

Tae il LEE (KOSHIPA —HHI)

Mustafa Insel (GISBIR-Technical and R&D Commission of

GISBIR)